Riverside.fm (versus Zencastr or Squadcast)

Do you have a preference between Zencastr and Squadcast?

As I’ve been recording the company podcast for #public:listen, I’ve been having some difficulties with Zencastr, and was thinking of changing over to Squadcast as it seems to be in use by more of the podcasters I know.

• Squadcst
  • Riverside
  • Zencastr

0 voters

4 Likes

Very limited experience with Squadcast - worked fine but not as refined an interface as Riverside.fm, which I’ve been using for a few months now without issue.

5 Likes

…I’ve added a poll — why didn’t I think of that originally?

4 Likes

I’ve only used Zencaster which was my choice only because of the multi-guest option. I am not sure I will continue or may only activate when I am in interview mode rather than editing. I have not used the others except as a guest.

4 Likes

I use Squadcast. I find it easy to use. I appreciate the opportunity to schedule recording sessions in advance. The last time I looked into Riverside, this was not an option. I have not yet used Zencastr as either a host or a guest.

4 Likes

Enjoying Riverside.fm and have no issues with it at all.

3 Likes

I love SquadCast for the quality of sound, the customer service/support & pricing.
Used it for all my in-depth interviews
Just started recording my 60 Seconds there & can hear a real differnce.

5 Likes

I’ve used all three, but Zencastr was first and had some issues they’ve since fixed. Liked Squadcast but prefer the interface and guest experience of Riverside.

I also like knowing that if I specify “audio only” on Riverside and internet connections get dicey during the call, Riverside will sacrifice video quality to preserve audio quality. The other two may do that as well, I just don’t know (Zencastr didn’t have video when I was a customer).

2 Likes

good point/question about video @JuleKucera

I’m only recording audio at the moment…

1 Like

I used Squadcast today and had an epic fail :frowning: